Cooking Vinyl

‘Chas & Dave – A Little Bit Of Us’ Out Now!

Bona fide national treasures Chas & Dave return with a new album ‘A Little Bit of Us,their first in over thirty years to feature brand-new Chas & Dave songs.  The album, released today on the duo’s rejuvenated ‘Rockney’ label is available on 12” vinyl, CD and digital download. The new album includes the singles ‘A Little Bit Of Me’ and ‘Nothing You Can Do’.

Says Chas Hodges: “The bloke who owns the studio where we recorded much of this album is Brian Juniper. He introduced me to Dave back in 1963 – Dave was at Junior School with him. I was at Senior School with him when, as 13 year olds, we started a Skiffle group over 60 years ago.”

The album features a mix of new Chas & Dave originals and live favourites, including the following (with wry comments courtesy of Chas):

‘Sling Your Hook’ “I wrote a special introductory verse to this – my message to cancer.” (Hodges was diagnosed with oesophagus cancer in 2017)

Come On Charlie’“A couple of London ‘Laurel & Hardy’ removal men. What are they moving? Could it be a Sideboard?”

When You Wore A Tulip“An old song we rocked up. Done it to a few old songs in our time.”

Modern Robin Hood“Written with a Del Boy/Arthur Daley character in mind”,

‘Roses of Picardy’“First World War song rocked up.”,

‘Last Kiss’“Like to think that Carl Mann or Jerry Lee would have done this, had it been around in the 50’s.”

Why Not Me? “This one is from my daughter Kate – a great piano player & singer/songwriter.”


The full track listing of ‘A Little Bit Of Us’ is:

  • A Little Bit of Me
  • Come On Charlie
  • When You Wore A Tulip
  • Wonder Where He Is Now
  • Nagasaki
  • Dry Bones
  • Nothing You Can Do
  • Modern Robin Hood
  • Last Kiss
  • My Little Grass Shack
  • Roses of Picardy
  • Sling Your Hook
  • Why Not Me?

Order Now