Cooking Vinyl

The Darkness New Album ‘Pinewood Smile’ Out Now!

”Who else would have the temerity to write a track about major commuting delays?”Planet Rock

”An expletive-laden blast of rant-rock which will resonate with frustrated commuters everywhere”Q Magazine

”Focuses its anger on the crumbling transport infrastructure of this once-great nation… with a lyric that lambasts the widely-loathed, strife-torn rail franchise. ‘It’s a journey into pure despair/There are fucking arseholes everywhere!’ Hawkins trills winningly.”Classic Rock

The Darkness have released a brand new album, entitled ‘Pinewood Smile’ out now!

Also the band released their new song, entitled ‘Southern Trains’. Delivering rip-roaring riffs that soar much faster than the lamented train service, England’s most distinctive, multiple award-winning, platinum-selling rock gods have once again created an important anthem for the nation, replete with spirited invective (a.k.a lots of swearing).

‘Southern Trains’ follows the release of both lead single ‘All The Pretty Girls’ and the expletive-drenched insight on the music industry, ‘Solid Gold’, both of which feature on their new album.

All three tracks are available on all streaming platforms and also available for download with pre-orders of the album for the instant gratification of fans. Click here for details:

Pinewood Smile finds The Darkness on electrifying form, delivering some of the most sharp-witted, infectious and downright brilliant songs of their career, and is being greeted with rave reviews, including 4 stars in the brand new issues of Q, Planet Rock and Mojo magazines.

To celebrate the album’s release, The Darkness will be touring extensively at the end of this year playing 17 dates in the UK throughout November and December including a headline show at London’s Hammersmith Eventim Apollo on December 10th. The shows are part of a wider European tour, entitled TOUR DE PRANCE.

Full dates can be found at

Order Now